IgnorantGuru's Blog

Linux software, news, and tips

SpaceFM 0.8.3 and udevil 0.3.5

SpaceFM 0.8.3 and udevil 0.3.5 have been released. Reflecting the great results being obtained with GTK3, this release can be built for GTK2 (default) or GTK3 (beta test). However, please note the potential GTK3 theme issues (link below).

0.8.3 also adds the new socket commands which greatly extend what custom commands and plugins can do in SpaceFM. I had hoped to include a CD burning plugin to demonstrate some of these features but that’s not quite done yet – look for it soon.

SpaceFM is now included in Pibang Linux for the Raspberry Pi, and reportedly builds and runs very well on this armhf architecture. Thanks to Pibang’s Nathan for the packaging and for some updates to the standard debian packaging.

There’s more – for full release info see SpaceFM News and udevil News.

November 24, 2012 - Posted by | Software

5 Comments

  1. Thanks for the Desktop Wallpaper Zoom feature, now I can use SpaceFM for wallpaper instead of Nitrogen, as I really needed something that both enlarges and preserves aspect ratio for some wallpapers.

    Comment by pataphysician | November 24, 2012

  2. Thanks, looking forward to trying out the new features.
    Already built and uploaded for antiX users.

    Comment by anticapitalista | November 25, 2012

  3. Pardon me but what distro are you currently using? I don’t run X and I don’t want automounting and I cannot find a simple alternative to Arch. Unfortunately right now in addition to wanting something that will run on bare metal, I also want it to run in a Xen VM — I could pay for a stacklet.com subscription and try some of their images, but I’d rather choose my distro beforehand. Slackware and Gentoo seem like the biggest names right now that either don’t use systemd or let you easily avoid it. I’m honestly getting desperate enough to go Linux From Scratch. Maybe I should see which of the BSD’s will run paravirtualized…

    Comment by Ghost | November 27, 2012

    • I moved from Arch to Aptosid a little over a year ago with good results. Debian isn’t using systemd as yet. Debian isn’t my favorite – more like a fallback.

      I think gentoo is a great distro afaik – I had some driver problems on my first attempt but may give it another try. It’s a little fussy but gives you good control. Slackware is also popular with its users. Calculate and Sabayon (both Gentoo based) are also popular and a little easier (but X based).

      Comment by IgnorantGuru | November 27, 2012

      • I moved away from Arch around the time they started moving everything to systemd. I’ve been using Gentoo eversince. I find that Gentoo is a fairly good replacement Arch. The biggest differences I find is that setting up a Gentoo install takes much longer, but you also get much more configuration.

        Updates take much longer then Arch, naturally, since you compile everything. After the inital install though, I find it’s really not as much of a hassle as I figured it’d be. They offer binary Firefox and Libreoffice since those take forever — Only packages that I find annoying to compile are boost and gcc and gcc doesn’t have to many updates. While I don’t know if it’s possible for you, I’ve just been running updates every few days to once a week (Or when I change my USE flags) and leaving it going during the night and it’s no problem. Updates are comparable to the number of updates Arch usually get’s per day/week I think, and even on my slower laptop (1.6Ghz) most packages compile fairly fast. I would recommend at least trying Gentoo if you’re looking for an Arch replacement.

        Comment by DSMan195276 | November 28, 2012


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.