IgnorantGuru's Blog

Linux software, news, and tips

Where Is IgnorantGuru?

It’s been a few months now with no activity on Github from IG, or responses to mail which he usually responds pretty quickly to, even when he has a lot of mail. I have asked for Editor access here in order to cull the spam, but that probably wont get anywhere.

Hopefully he is just taking a well-earned break from pouring effort into SpaceFM, and we can welcome him back soon.

Update: IgnorantGuru returns!

July 5, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

20 Comments

  1. I hope that whatever’s going on that he’s safe. I’ve enjoyed the conversations I’ve had with him and for FOSS to lose a good developer with sane ideas would make me truly sad.

    Comment by sporkbox | July 6, 2013

  2. Did you know him in person? If you have any idea about his location, country, etc. we can try to find him.

    Anyway, thanks for updating. Hope he is fine.

    PS: You might want to take a backup of the blog, incase this goes offline. We can probably post the stuff somewhere else.

    Comment by Anonymous Penguin | July 6, 2013

    • I dont know him in person, but I do have some details of where hes likely to live, however I don’t think it would be appropriate to discuss here in case he does turn up again (anonymity is usually a requirement to use the net).

      Backup-wise I’m just an Author here so I cant use the normal Tools method, but I can rip the site with httrack. I do think though that it will stick around based on WordPress’ policy.

      Comment by someone3lse | July 6, 2013

      • Yeah posting his details here is definitely not something I want either.

        Perhaps you can try to contact/find him yourself.

        As for the backup stuff, httrack is still better than having no backup at all.

        Thanks.

        Comment by Anonymous Penguin | July 6, 2013

  3. He’s trying to recover from Fedora 19 and the GNOME 3.8 shock he got.

    Comment by Anonymous | July 7, 2013

  4. I am really worried. He might be in serious trouble.

    Comment by Anonymous | October 6, 2013

  5. Maybe someone3lse can post an update. Though, I am not too optimistic.

    Comment by Anonymous Penguin | October 7, 2013

  6. No change – if there was, you’d probably see activity here. Rest assured I’ll update here if I see anything.

    Comment by someone3lse | October 7, 2013

  7. Finally, seems someone has given me enough access to clean up the spam :)

    Comment by someone3lse | October 15, 2013

    • WordPress folks?

      Comment by Anonymous Penguin | October 16, 2013

      • I assume so, don’t want to kick up a fuss incase it causes trouble for someone. Noones contacted me, IG or otherwise – I occassionally go on the admin dashboard of the blog and found that I could flag comments as spam suddenly.

        A good result!

        Comment by someone3lse | October 16, 2013

  8. No need for concern, although I have been away for longer than expected. Nice to see SpaceFM/udevil performing this well with a few months on autopilot. I hope to get to some basic maintenance soon (now where did I put that SSL key…)

    Comment by IgnorantGuru | October 16, 2013

  9. Hi IgnorantGuru. I’m very glad to have news from you. I was very worried.

    Comment by jpfleury | October 16, 2013

  10. Welcome back stranger :D You managed to escape incarceration? :p You had a lot of people worried!

    Comment by someone3lse | October 17, 2013

  11. Woah, you’ll be busy on GitHub for a long time it seems.

    Welcome back!!

    Comment by Anonymous Penguin | October 17, 2013

  12. me too I was very worried. Welcome back!!

    Comment by pogo | October 17, 2013

  13. Wireshark announces it is moving from gtk to Qt…..and he returns

    Welcome back.

    Comment by pete | October 17, 2013

  14. Welcome back!

    I’ll try to help with the backlog of issues and get back into contributing.

    Comment by BwackNinja | October 19, 2013

    • Thanks for all the wb’s!

      The issues are in good shape. I’ve reviewed them all and have closed everything remotely critical. Just doing some final polishing on the upcoming 0.9.0 release now. I also sorted issues by priority into milestones in case anyone wants to check the status of their issue or request, and it helps me organize much better. You may not like the answer but I aimed for realism given my new dev schedule.

      SpaceFM is in that nice place now where it’s capable and stable, so not much ‘needs’ to be done, and I will be slowing work on it at times. But if a request or other issue catches your eye let me know. Your name was on that transparent background request. Thanks again for your contributions! GTK3 has been sailing along as nicely as can be expected – trouble free for my part. We did nice work there and it gave SpaceFM a rare range, version-wise.

      Comment by IgnorantGuru | October 20, 2013

      • Back and better than ever, aren’t ya?! I’m slowly tackling that transparent background request and it should be done by the end of the week. I ran into trouble the last time I tried my hand at it, but I think I figured out what I was doing wrong.

        It’s really nice that SpaceFM is in such a good state, but it’s also fun to know where the future lies. I’ll be watching for the next steps, at whatever pace they come!

        Comment by BwackNinja | October 20, 2013


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 143 other followers