IgnorantGuru's Blog

Linux software, news, and tips

My SpaceFM Plugins Repo

I have created a new github repo for my own SpaceFM plugins in an effort to make them reasonable to share and maintain. Note that this repo only contains plugins that I personally maintain. As always you can find a list of all plugins at the larger public SpaceFM Plugins Wiki.

Currently I have only one plugin there, my IG Burn Tools plugin, which I updated this morning. I’ve burned on a lot of discs with this plugin already and it works great for me. It’s simple so probably not everyone’s cup of tea, but it also demonstrates some more advanced uses of SpaceFM Dialog. I have also added more screenshots.

The github repo method is convenient for a number of reasons. You can watch the repo or subscribe to the feed to receive notifications of changes to any of my (currently one) plugins. You can also review the commits to see exactly what changes were made, and can access older versions of any plugin or file by going back into the git history.

From a maintenance perspective, github (which is free) provides a number of advantages. For example, it includes a wiki and a bug tracker, and it’s integrity checking helps avoid malicious activity. github can also host a homepage for the repo, or you can use the wiki (which can be publicly editable or locked). If you share SpaceFM plugins, you might want to consider this approach.

I setup a single “spacefm-plugins” repo for all my plugins, creating a subdirectory for each. Within each plugin’s subdirectory I added pkg and src directories. The pkg directory contains the current tar.gz plugin file (plus a signature file) for download. The src directory contains the extracted contents of the plugin file (so git can track changes within the plugin, and the contents can be browsed on github).

When I update a plugin, I export it as usual in SpaceFM, saving it directly to the pkg directory, replacing the older version. I then extract it to the src directory (I made a little custom command to do this), replacing the current contents. Then I review the ‘git diff’, commit the changes and push them. People watching the repo receive notification and can review the changes. For example, here are the changes I made this morning to the Burn Tools plugin for version 0.6.

All in all I think this is a very convenient approach, which should allow me to share lots of little plugins with a minimum of hassle as time goes on. But one is a start.

February 15, 2013 Posted by | Scripts | 5 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers